

ART TINOCO Assistant Registrar of Voters

REBECCA SPENCER Registrar of Voters

> REGISTRAR OF VOTERS COUNTY OF RIVERSIDE

July 10, 2020

Riverside County NEWS RELEASE

Contact: Rebecca Spencer, Registrar of Voters (951) 486-7330

Candidate Filing Opens Monday for November 3 general election

In preparation for candidate filing under COVID-19 restrictions, the Riverside County Registrar of Voters is encouraging contact-less filing options for candidates who wish to run for office in the November 3, 2020 Presidential General Election. Candidate filing begins on Monday, July 13, 2020 at 8:00 am and concludes on August 7, 2020 at 5:00 pm.

Candidates can request to receive their documents via email or regular mail by calling the Riverside County Registrar of Voters office at (951) 486-7200. Candidates have the option of taking the Oath of Office via a notary service or by using a video conferencing service with Registrar of Voters' staff. If candidates prefer to file in-person, appointments are highly recommended. Walk-ins are permitted; however, wait times may occur as physical distancing requirements and limitations are implemented.

Candidates can make an appointment by calling (951) 486-7200. Completed documents with original signatures MUST be received by the Registrar of Voters by the close of the nomination period at 5:00 p.m. on August 7, 2020 in order for the candidate to be qualified for the ballot. For convenience, there will be a secure drop box located outside of the Registrar of Voters' office for candidates to drop off their completed nomination forms.

Anyone interested in running for offices on the November 3 general election ballot may take out candidate filing papers beginning Monday, July 13. Papers must be filed by 5 p.m. on August 7. If an incumbent fails to file, the deadline for that office will be extended to 5 p.m. on August 12, for everyone except the incumbent.

The following special districts and school districts have open seats:

Special Districts **Edgemont Community Services District** Jurupa Community Services District – Divisions 2 & 4 Rubidoux Community Services District Tenaja Community Services District Idyllwild Fire Protection District Desert Healthcare District – Zones 1, 3, 5 & 7 Palo Verde Healthcare District San Gorgonio Memorial Healthcare District Valley Health System – Zones 3, 4, 5 & 7 Beaumont-Cherry Valley Water District – Divisions 1 & 2 Banning Library District Palo Verde Library District Beaumont-Cherry Valley Recreation and Park District Desert Recreation District – Divisions 2, 3 & 5 Jurupa Area Recreation and Park District – Divisions 1, 2, 3 & 4 Valley-Wide Recreation and Park District – Divisions 2, 4 & 5 Valley Sanitary District – Divisions B, C, D, E Desert Water Agency – Divisions 4 & 5 San Gorgonio Pass Water Agency – At Large #1, Divisions 1, 2 & 5 Rancho California Water District Coachella Valley Water District – Divisions 2 & 4 Idyllwild Water District Home Gardens County Water District Mission Springs Water District – Districts 2, 3 & 4 Pine Cove Water District Eastern Municipal Water District – Divisions 3 & 4 Elsinore Valley Municipal Water District – Divisions 2 & 4 Lake Hemet Municipal Water District – Divisions 2 & 5 Western Municipal Water District – Divisions 1, 4 & 5

General District Elections Conducted by San Bernardino County:

San Bernardino Valley Municipal Water District – Division 2

School Districts

Desert Community College District – Trustee Areas 2, 3 & 5 Mt. San Jacinto Community College District – Trustee Areas 1, 2 & 5 Palo Verde Community College District – Trustee Area 1 Riverside Community College District – Trustee Areas 1 & 3 Alvord Unified School District – Trustee Areas 2 & 5 Beaumont Unified School District – Trustee Areas 1 & 5 Coachella Valley Unified School District – Trustee Areas 1, 2, 3 & 4 Corona – Norco Unified School District – Trustee Areas 1, 3 & 5 Desert Center Unified School District – Trustee Areas 1, 3 & 5 Desert Sands Unified School District – Trustee Areas 1, 3 & 4 Hemet Unified School District – Trustee Area 3 Jurupa Unified School District – Trustee Areas 2 & 4 Lake Elsinore Unified School District – Trustee Areas 2 & 4 Menifee Union School District – Trustee Areas 1, 2 & 5 Moreno Valley Unified School District – Trustee Areas 2 & 5 Murrieta Valley Unified School District – Trustee Areas 3, 4 & 5 Nuview Union School District Palm Springs Unified School District – Trustee Areas 1 & 2 Palo Verde Unified School District Perris Elementary School District – Trustee Areas 2 & 4 Perris Union High School District – Trustee Areas 2, 3 & 4 Riverside Unified School District – Trustee Areas 2, 3 & 4 Romoland School District – Trustee Areas 2 & 4 San Jacinto Unified School District – Trustee Areas 1, 2 & 3 Temecula Valley Unified School District – Trustee Areas 1, 2 & 3 Val Verde Unified School District – Trustee Areas 1 & 2

General District Elections Conducted by San Bernardino County:

San Bernardino County Board of Education – Trustee Area "E" Colton Joint Unified School District – Trustee Areas 1, 2 & 3 Yucaipa-Calimesa Joint Unified School District – Trustee Area 1

The Registrar of Voters' staff is available to help prospective candidates complete the necessary paperwork and to answer questions. Please call (951) 486-7200 to schedule an appointment. Candidates unsure about the local district offices for which they are eligible, based on residency, should contact the Registrar of Voters office for help. Candidates will receive informational handbooks at the time they obtain their papers.

For more information about this election contact the Registrar of Voters office at (951) 486-7200 or (800) 773-8683.